Tags

, , , ,

Buttonwood Winery’s 2012 “Zingy” Sauvignon Blanc

“Zingy,” I wondered. Why that name? My first sip later, I understood. This wine embodies zingy; it’s easily the most tart sauv blanc I’ve encountered. And that’s saying a lot, because I’m an outspoken fan of this white Bordeaux varietal: I drink sauvignon blanc several times a month.

Winemaker Karen Steinwachs has several vintages from Buttonwood under her belt, and she understands the estate vineyard like nobody’s business.

Zingy packs a perfect balance of mouthwatering grapefruit acidity, the kind that pairs perfectly with creamy pasta or cheese. Quite by accident I discovered how well Zingy matched plain crackers topped with sea salt. I sipped, and crunched. And then the cracker box was empty …

Production: 296 cases, from estate Block 5, the “Zingy” block, at Buttonwood Winery. Whole cluster pressed to cold stainless steel. Tasting room (and seasonal fruit stand) on Alamo Pintado Road outside Solvang. Retail: $20. www.buttonwoodwinery.comCCWP Thursday Bottle Photo 8.1.13

