Tags

, , ,

So I fell behind with a post. Again.

I did drink a wine, however, and on Thursday. This week, Thursday was Halloween.

The backstory: About a year ago I ventured to the Bounty Hunter in downtown Napa, where a friend and I each ordered a glass of wine. She had bubbles; I had a mourvèdre. I so enjoyed the wine that I bought two bottles.

The wine: 2009 Graff Family Vineyards Mourvèdre, Chalone (Monterey County).

Thursday three of us paired the bottle with spicy turkey chili crafted by one of us, aka the Amazing Stephanie. The chili was de-lish and the wine was extraordinary.

The mourvèdre was elegant but had enough backbone to stand tall against the spice and acid of the chili. It showed more fig than prune, and more dust and light spice than mesquite. Hint of bacon.

Love mourvèdre? If you find a stash of 2009 (unlikely, but possible), open your wallet and pony up for this beauty.

Consensus: “Love this wine!”

Alcohol: 15.6. Retail: $24 (Bounty Hunter)

From the back of the bottle: “A portion of the profits from the sale of this wine benefits the Richard H. Graff Scholarship Fund for wine and food education.”

