Tags

, , , ,

It’s still Thursday … at least for another hour!

2007 Mistura Noceto 180 Degree Selection

For this week’s selection, I dug deep in my cellar for “Thursday’s Bottle.” This week has been one of the busiest in recent memory, but I’ve met deadlines, helped a good friend harvest grapes and savored another fall’s cooler temperatures and a light rain.

Tonight I celebrated finishing a writing project with a glass or two of a rustic wine, Mistura from Vino Noceto in Amador County. I visited this winery almost two years ago on my way to a family Thanksgiving.

As I hoped, this stick-to-your-tongue tannic, “dusky” red embodies the flavors of fall. Think roasted vegetables with a side of mashed potatoes and thick butternut squash soup with a hint of white pepper and cumin.

That was the pairing I envisioned; in my world, I microwaved leftover quinoa and topped it with mushrooms sautéed in butter. And it was heaven.

This 2007 red table wine is hearty and aptly named. “We call it 180 Degrees because it’s different than any other wine we produce,” according to notes from winemaker Rusty Folena on Vino Noceto’s website, http://www.noceto.com

While the 2007 has no doubt sold out and fallen off the website, notes on the 2008 state: “This is a blend of the Portuguese varietals in our Almirante port-style wine: Tinta Roriz, Tinta Cao, Touriga Nacional and Tinta Amerela, plus Alicante Bouschet, Tempranillo, Syrah and Petite Sirah.”

This wine prompted me to craft a “Thursday’s Bottle” acronym: MPWF, or Must Pair With Food. This wine is big and spicy and bold. Needs food.

Retail: About $23, but likely sold out. http://www.noceto.com, Amador County Red Table Wine.

 

 

